if obsession is wrong, i don't wanna be right

make a wish

In Fashion on August 7, 2009 at 10:39 am

I discovered Dogeared when I was a junior in college. My roommate, Allison, and I bought ‘friendship’ necklaces together – no, it wasn’t a broken heart with one side of the heart saying BEST and the other saying FRIENDS.

friendship-necklace
We stumbled on this thoughtful and adorable jewelry website that had necklaces, bracelets, and earrings (oh my!) that all had a specific meaning. We bought the Pearls of Friendship necklaces and wore them everyday together. After 3 years of stalking the website, Dogeared has expanded to many, many more gifts and pretty-little-things that are perfect for any occasion.

Last October, one of my New York City roommates gave me another Dogeared piece – their signature Make a Wish necklace. dogeared
All of their Make a Wish necklaces come with a specific charm (which could mean anything from ‘You Kick Ass!‘ to ‘You’re a great sister!‘). The necklaces come on a piece of colored string, and the story goes that if you make a wish when you clasp your necklace for the first time, once it wears off your wish will come true.

I’ll be the first to admit that I didn’t expect my necklace to last this long. I made a wish that I thought would be appropriate if it fell off in a few months, maybe even six. But now that we’re nearing the TEN-MONTH mark, and my little gold wishbone is still hanging by a thread, it has become apart of me. I have only taken it off maybe three times over the span of time and it has become not only a staple to my wardrobe, but a staple to my neck! I’m a bare to the bones accessories wearer, and I feel it an absolute feat to have stuck with something so long.

I recommend giving a Make a Wish necklace as a gift to a friend or a loved one – it’s something special and simple that reminds you everyday of those hopes & dreams you had when you put it on for the first time.

Leave a Reply

